Oregon Child Safety Seats

Child deaths in car accidents and motor vehicle crashes have declined since 1975, but crashes still cause about 1 of every 3 injury deaths among children younger than 13. National Transportation Safety Board statistics show that among children 2-12 years old, motor vehicle crash injury is the leading cause of death. Most of these deaths occur among children traveling as passenger vehicle occupants during car accidents, and proper restraint use can reduce these fatalities. Placing children in rear seats instead of front seats reduces collision fatal injury risk by about a third among those 12 and younger.

Although 96 percent of parents who use child safety seats, booster seats. and safety belts to protect their children think they are doing it correctly, check ups continually show that 4 out of 5 unintentionally make mistakes that could result in their child being injured or killed in a collision.

Oregon law requires child safety seat use as follows:

Child Under One Year
A person who is under one year of age, regardless of weight, or a person who weighs 20 pounds or less must be properly secured with a child safety system in a rear-facing position.

Any Child Under Forty Pounds
A person who weighs 40 pounds or less must be properly secured with a child safety system that meets the minimum standards and specifications established by the Department of Transportation under ORS 815.055 for child safety systems designed for children weighing 40 pounds or less.

Any Child Over Forty Pounds and Shorter Than 4 Feet Nine Inches Tall
A person who weighs more than 40 pounds and who is four feet nine inches or shorter must be properly secured with a child safety system that elevates the person so that a safety belt or safety harness properly fits the person.

The safety belt or harness “properly fits” if the lap belt of the safety belt or harness is positioned low across the thighs and the shoulder belt is positioned over the collarbone and away from the neck. This requirement does not apply to a person who weighs more than 40 pounds and who is four feet nine inches or shorter if he or she is secured with a lap belt in the rear seat of a vehicle that is not equipped with shoulder belts.

The child safety system must meet minimum standards and specifications established by the Department of Transportation under ORS 815.055 for child safety systems designed for children who are four feet nine inches or shorter.

Any Child Taller Than 4 Feet Nine Inches
A person who is taller than four feet nine inches must be properly secured with a safety belt or safety harness that meets requirements under ORS 815.055, which are the standards for child safety systems established by the federal government.

Any Child Eight Years or Older
A person who is eight years of age or older need not be secured with a child safety system but must be properly secured with a safety belt or safety harness that meets requirements under ORS 815.055, which are the standards for child safety systems established by the federal government.

Contact an Oregon Car Accident Lawyer
If your child has been hurt or killed in a motor vehicle collision, a Portland auto accident attorney may be able to help recover compensation. Oregon personal injury lawyer Dane E. Johnson offers a no-cost, no-obligation consultation. Contact us toll free at (800) 714-3204 or use our online form.